Power to Arrest
Gain the credentials and confidence to be a California Security Officer with our comprehensive Guard Card training program in conjunction with our Firearms, Baton and Pepper Spray courses.
Our instructors provide top rated classroom and practical training so students have a complete understanding of the courses.
Not good at taking test? The Power to Arrest test is correctable to 100%. No failures here!
First Class to Take is the Power to Arrest Course:
Students are required to complete the State of California, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, Power to Arrest Course in order to receive a “Guard Registration Card” The course will cover:
Overview of Power to Arrest Manual and subject matter.
Definition of arrest and discussion on the implications to the subject, the guard and the company.
Lecture/discussion on escalation and de-escalation techniques in the use of force.
Lecture/discussion in the use of restraint techniques and their implications.
Discussion of trespass laws and implications of enforcement.
Completion of the Power to Arrest Training Manual Test with 100% score in accordance with the Manual’s Administering Instructions.
Guard Card Class $60.00
State Guard Registration Fee $51.00
DOJ Finger Print Fee $32.00
FBI Finger Print Fee $17.00
On Line Registration Fee $20.00
Live Scan Finger Print Fee $20.00
If planning on taking Firearms within a year bring an extra $38.00
Finger Prints and State Registration are completed for you by the Class Instructor. Bring current I.D. to all classes.
Firearm Applicants Only!! Pay an extra $38.00 for your Firearm Finger Prints, when you take your Powers to Arrest Class and save $69.00. When you return for the Firearms Class your cost will then only be $260.00. Take your Powers to Arrest Class now & Firearms Class within the next 11 months and save $69.00 by finger printing only once! Guard Card Students not planning on taking the Firearms Course, ONLY PAY $200.00.
Your Guard Card is valid for two years. The cost is $35.00 to renew it every two years. Don’t let it expire!!
Any theft or violent crime should be at least 3 years old prior to taking the Power to Arrest Class. Arrested? – Final Guard Card may be delayed for months or denied. Approval is from the State . (BSIS)
REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION
A security guard must have in his/her possession a valid security guard registration or a screen-print of the Bureau’s approval from the Bureau’s web site at www.bsis.ca.gov, along with a valid photo identification, before working as a security guard.
Security guards are employed by licensed private patrol operators to protect persons or property and prevent theft. To be eligible to apply for a security guard registration, you must:
Be at least 18 years old
Undergo a criminal history background check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The training and exam may be administered by any private patrol operator or by a certified training facility.
Your criminal history background check through DOJ & FBI are processed via your Live Scan Finger Prints which are included in the Class.